skip to main content
Required - Days of Observance in Tennessee
Posted On:
Monday, August 26, 2019

Days of Observance in Tennessee

In addition to "legal" or "public" holidays that are common to most states, Tennessee has many historical and cultural days of observance. From the Tennessee Blue Book; "Pursuant to the provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 15-2-101 through 15-2-126, each year it shall be the duty of the Governor to proclaim the following as days of special observance."

Robert E. Lee Day January 19
Franklin D. Roosevelt Day January 30
Abraham Lincoln Day February 12
Volunteer Firefighters Week first full week in March
Tennessee National Guard Day March 3
Harriet Tubman Day March 10
Andrew Jackson Day March 15
Vietnam Veterans Day March 29
Patriots’ Day April 19
Workers’ Memorial Day April 28
Mothers’ Day second Sunday in May
Police Memorial Day May 11
Rescue Squad Week third full week in May
Bluegrass Day fourth Saturday in May
Statehood Day June 1
Memorial or Confederate Decoration Day June 3
Transverse Myelitis Awareness Day June 6
Lymphedema Awareness Week third week of June
John Sevier Day June 23
Wilma Rudolph Day June 23
Scottish, Scots-Irish Heritage Day June 24
Nathan Bedford Forrest Day July 13
Emancipation Day August 8
Family Day last Sunday in August
Tennessee and U. S. Constitutions Day September 17
Tennessee POW–MIA Recognition Week third Friday to following Thursday of September
Towing and Recovery Week week of the third Saturday in September
American Indian Day fourth Monday in September
Gold Star Mother’s Day last Sunday in September
Firefighters’ Memorial Day October 9
Veterans’ Day November 11
Agriculture Literacy Week week of the third Thursday in November
View all Highlights